2021香港巴塞爾藝術展

2021年5月21 - 23日

刺點畫廊將參與2021年巴塞爾藝術展香港展會。 於5月21至23日在香港會議展覽中心呈現藝術家陳維、鄭燕垠、蔣鵬奕、蔣志、黎卓華、林東鵬、單慧乾、楊沛鏗、楊東龍及張如怡的作品。

在陳維的影像中,大量的衛星接收器在賽博朋克式的冷色光暈下散佈於廢棄的建築工地上。在充滿詩意又極度不安的氛圍下,作品中荒蕪的景觀仿佛被凝固於時間之中。藝術家在創作中呈現工業及經濟迅猛發展下生成的廢棄物品,它們如蘑菇般不斷擴散、生長,揭示著氾濫的消費及物質主義追求。

在鄭燕垠近期創作的雙聯屏繪畫《夜晚咁樣幾好》(2021)中,深水埗的夜景與她記憶中不起眼的角落與碎片相互重疊,並以藝術家獨特的顏色譜系勾劃。在她探索繪畫縱深的創作中,不同時空的通道彼此相連。藝術家於繪畫中創造著相互貫通的空間網絡,將觀眾從赤裸的現實傳送進夢境般的時空。

蔣鵬奕在創作系列《預見》(2017-2018)中回歸至圖像創作的根本。在對機械攝影的探索中,藝術家抵抗著對圖像的人為干預,他將創作的主導權交予時間及有機生物,並任由食物垃圾的分泌來產生細菌及化學物質改變感光膠片。在巴塞爾藝術展的呈現之外,蔣鵬奕的個展《太陽!太陽!》亦同期於刺點畫廊舉行。

蔣志近年的風景油畫系列《世界是你們的,也是我們的》(2013至今)中,每一幅都是在他特意為此拍攝的風景攝影基礎上,綜合了電腦處理和絲網版畫的技術,最後以油畫的方式畫出,整體上融合了攝影和版畫的視覺元素,呈現出與以往風景作品迥然不同的奇妙圖景。

黎卓華在油畫《莫妮卡》(2018)中描繪了80年代性感女星邱淑貞在王晶監製的90年代的經典電影《赤裸羔羊》(1992)中的一幕畫面。作為香港80年代最重要的女星之一,邱淑貞完美演繹了蛇蠍美人誘惑又神秘的屬性,捕捉了90年代主流媒體和娛樂界所呈現的性感美學。

林東鵬的繪畫作品《花花草草(十二)》(2020)是一件描繪野水仙的大幅靜物畫。此件作品中,水仙花在一陣疾風下折腰彎向地面,以求在不可抗的自然力量下得以存續。在世界及歷史的恢宏背景下,作品中的無名野花顯得如此堅韌,有「疾風知勁草」之意。
單慧乾常在他們的創作中透過變裝的虛構性與思辨性挑戰我們對性別、性向以及身份的固有觀念。每當變裝表演之後用卸妝濕巾擦拭妝容時,藝術家發現印有妝容的濕巾亦成為記錄他們角色表演的檔案。

楊沛鏗呈現《晚菇群》的兩個版本。在此件由電流轉換器與夜燈組成的混合媒體創作中,小一簇發光的蘑菇任意地生長在不起眼的角落,在迷人的光暈與電流製造的多性交纏之下,它們穿破土壤的縫隙,肆意地繁殖並生長。

楊東龍在他的作品中描繪了位於港島東,靠近自己住所的筲箕灣電車尾站金華街上的景觀與人物。日間人聲鼎沸的金華街街市在夜晚則陷入一片死寂。在他的繪畫裡,楊東龍在寫實的手法中混合豐富的視角,呈現出全新的觀看方式。他以嫻熟的繪畫技巧分解並融合現實與想象,進而升華日常的平庸,為午夜的街景繪出清醒又不乏幻影的神韻。

張如怡的雕塑作品如同後都市景觀中遺落的文物,她的創作時常橫跨有機生態與工業景觀。她使用拆遷工地中的建築廢料,在人造混凝土上塑造出仙人掌的有機形態,這些沒有生命的形態如紀念碑一般,記錄著自然生態在工業社會中的歷史。

Art|Basel Hong Kong 2021

21 - 23 May 2021

Blindspot Gallery is delighted to announce our participation in Art|Basel Hong Kong this year at the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre on 21 – 23 May 2021, presenting works by Chen Wei, Un Cheng, Jiang Pengyi, Jiang Zhi, Sarah Lai, Lam Tung Pang, Sin Wai Kin, Trevor Yeung, Yeung Tong Lung and Zhang Ruyi.

Chen Wei fabricates an image of satellites strewn across an abandoned construction site, starkly lit in a nocturnal cyberpunk glow; the vacant landscape poetically yet disturbingly locked in time. Chen exposes the aftermath of rapid industrialisation and proliferating economic growth as waste and excess reproduce like mushrooms in abundance, a reflection of the country’s consumerist and materialist aspirations.

In a recent diptych painting Nice to have a night like this (2021), Un Cheng uses her signature psychedelic color palette to paint night scenes of Sham Shui Po overlayed with other forgotten corners and fragments of her memory. She conjures an intricate network of portals that transitions the viewer from naked reality to imagined dreamscapes.

Stripping back to the very foundations of image-making, in Foresight (2017-2018), Jiang Pengyi resists human intervention and grants agency to time and organic substances, allowing the decomposition of food waste to manipulate the surface of light sensitive film through the secretion of bacteria and chemicals. Simultaneously at Blindspot Gallery, Jiang Pengyi’s solo exhibition Sun! Sun! takes place.

In Jiang Zhi’s recent landscape oil painting series, The world is yours, as well as ours (2013-ongoing), the artist intentionally photographs images of landscapes, and manipulates the image with digital processes and silkscreen printing techniques. The oil painting ultimately materializes as a union of photographic and print elements, transforming our perception of ordinary landscapes into an incredible visual field.

In Monica (2018), Sarah Lai paints a movie still depicting bombshell Chingmy Yau in the iconic erotic thriller Naked Killer (1992). Yau, a leading Hong Kong actress of the 1980s and 90s, embodies the persona of a Femme Fetale, capturing the sensuous aesthetic of the bygone 90s era presented in mainstream media and entertainment.

Lam Tung Pang’s Meaningless No.12 (2020) is an oversized still life of anonymous daffodil in the wild, wavering against a sudden wind in a bid to survive uncontrollable environmental forces. The anonymity of the plantation renders meaningless against the backdrop of our monumental world and history at large.

Sin Wai Kin (fka Victoria Sin) uses drag in their practice as speculative fiction to challenge our systemic attitudes towards gender, sexuality and identity in our status-quo. In the process of using facial wipes to remove their makeup after each performance, Sin discovered that the imprinted wipes became an archive of their evolving characters.

Trevor Yeung presents two iterations of Night Mushroom Colon (2016-ongoing) , a small cluster of unruly luminescent mushrooms inhibiting unassuming corners, a mixed-media work combining electrical converters and night lights. These mushrooms thrive in fecundity, penetrate orifices, and reproduce through polyamorous converters and tempting colors.

Yeung Tong Lung narrates the vernacular street scenes and people of Hong Kong in Kam Wa Street (2014). The regular bustling market scenes of Kam Wa Street at the peak of day become deserted in the dead of night. Yeung plays with the apparent realism in his paintings with an array of perspectives, presenting new ways of looking. Using his skilful dissection and fusing of reality and imagination, he elevates the familiar banal, inducing a moment of illusory clarity in midnight.

Zhang Ruyi’s practice deals with the crossover between organic phenomena and industrial landscapes, her sculptures often reminiscent of relics in a post-urbanist landscape. Zhang incorporate fragments from demolition sites, rendering the life of cacti into artificial stone. These defunct life forms become monuments imbued with natural history.