麥顯揚
《無題(交織的兩個人)》

麥顯揚

1951-1994,生於菲律賓

麥顯揚的作品以其混合身體、馬、老虎及日常物件的人體鑄銅雕塑而為人頌稱。他的雕塑及繪畫顯露出對圖象、符號及同音字趣的強烈興趣,表達透過身體回歸人文主義的精神也反映香港殖民時期的社會政治氣侯。在其雕塑作品以外,麥氏豐富的手稿與繪畫,為其作品提供全面的註解,也是藝術家對個人圖象學的大膽實驗。

1971-75年,麥於英國倫敦大學金匠學院藝術系專修繪畫。1975-77年,於英國倫敦大學史里特藝術學院深造,專修雕塑,並於英國皇家藝術學院學習青銅鑄造。1980年代末,麥前往美國深造,並於紐約約翰遜鑄造廠鑽研最新銳的銅鑄技術。

麥的重要個展和回顧展包括香港藝術館的“尋找麥顯揚”(2008)及香港藝術中心的“麥顯揚回顧展”(1995)。麥曾參與的重要群展則包括藝術家自發策劃的 “外圍”(1987),為香港當代藝術歷史撰寫了一個重要的篇章。


  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /

Antonio Mak Hin-yeung
Untitled (Intertwined men)

Antonio Mak Hin-yeung

b. the Phillippines, 1951-1994

Antonio Mak was renowned for his figurative cast-bronze sculptures in the hybrid forms of human bodies, horses, tigers and man-made objects.  His works expose a keen interest in icons, symbolism and homonymic word plays, which articulate a return to humanism through the human body, and the particular socio-political situation of colonial Hong Kong. Along with the sculptural work, Mak’s rich body of drawings and sketches contain extensive explication and bold experimentation of the artist’s personal iconography.

From 1971-1975, Antonio Mak studied painting at Goldsmith’s College, School of Art, University of London. Mak undertook studies in sculptures at the Slade School of Art, University of London and worked under supervision at the Bronze Foundry of The Royal College of Art in London 1975-77. In the late 1980s, Mak travelled to US for intensive training in the latest technical methodologies of bronze casting at the Johnson Foundry in New York.

Mak’s  solo exhibitions and retrospectives in institutions and museums include “Looking for Antonio Mak” (Hong Kong Museum of Art, 2008) and “The Art of Antonio Mak – A Retrospective” (Hong Kong Arts Centre, 1995). Mak was also a participant in the seminal self-organised group exhibition, “Out of Context” (1987), an important chapter in the history of contemporary art in Hong Kong.

 


  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /