程展緯:液化陽光⎢何兆南:不可抗力

2019年9月10日 - 11月2日

開幕酒會:二零一九年九月七日,星期六,下午4時至6時30分
藝術家將出席開幕酒會。

‟液化陽光 | 不可抗力”是香港藝術家程展緯與何兆南的雙個展。每年造訪香港的颱風,是我們集體記憶中不可或缺的一部分,亦是塑造社會集體意識的一種原動力。兩位藝術家分別以往年及近年發生的颱風為主題,透過比較和暗喻去反思自然災害的侵略和社會政治的失效,兩者同時發生的巧合。是次展覽的作品分別創作於2014年和2018年,可視為兩位積極參與社會運動的藝術家,對香港社會近年兩次主要的政治運動作的回應和預示。

在 ‟液化陽光” 中,程展緯呈現香港和台灣的自然和人造天氣現象,強調了兩地的現實關聯 ── 無論是氣象外力或是政治外力,都依著時序先後在兩地發生。他以概念性的介入和處理手法,例如被塗改的明信片和以水車製造的人工雨,暴露我們對理想的公民機構以及城市景觀的錯誤想像。

何兆南在 ‟不可抗力” 中,記錄了2018年颱風山竹襲港後的面貌,這是自1980年代以來在香港登陸的最強熱帶氣旋。颱風除了帶來氾濫的洪水和肆虐的破壞,更連根拔起成千上萬的樹木,使其支節分離地佔據了這個原來不可撼動的石屎森林。藝術家跨越這座變了形的城市,捕捉這些遭受重創的軀體和傷口,展露了這個城市迫切回復正常的渴望,以及面對難以言表的暴力時個體的脆弱和韌性。

Luke Ching Chin Wai: Liquefied Sunshine | South Ho Siu Nam: Force Majeure

10 Sep - 2 Nov 2019

Opening Reception: 7 Sep 2019,  Saturday,  4 – 6:30pm
Artists will be present.

‟Liquefied Sunshine | Force Majeure” is a dual solo exhibition by Hong Kong artists, Luke Ching Chin Wai and South Ho Siu Nam. As an annual recurrence that always returns to the city, typhoon is an integral part of our shared memories and a formative force in our collective psyche. Ching and Ho construct a comparative study of past and recent typhoons that hit the city, and reflect on the coincidence of natural catastrophes and socio-political failures in the current moment. Presenting works made in 2014 and 2018, the two socially engaged artists metaphorically reacted to and foreshadowed the two major civil uprisings in their hometown.

In ‟Liquefied Sunshine”, Luke Ching Chin Wai visualises natural and artificial weather phenomena in Hong Kong and Taiwan, emphasising the correlating realities between the two regions, where major forces, be they meteorological or political, happen in different temporal successions. Through unexpected interventions, such as defaced postcards and artificial rain brought by water trucks, Ching traces a thoughtful pathway to expose our faulty imagination of ideal civic institutions and cityscapes.

On the other hand, ‟Force Majeure” follows South Ho Siu Nam’s movement in the aftermath of Super Typhoon Mangkhut (2018), the strongest tropical cyclone to make landfall in Hong Kong since 1980s. In addition to widespread flooding and riotous destruction, tens of thousands of trees were uprooted and mutilated, their mangled trunks and branches blocking roads and passageways. Ho traversed the transformed city, capturing the fresh wounds on these violently traumatised bodies, against the backdrop of an unmovable concrete metropolis eager to go back to normal. The artist reveals the fragility and resilience of the individual in face of unspeakable violence.