蔣志:這個我能變好嗎?

2020年9月8日 - 10月24日

蔣志個展《這個我能變好嗎?》展出藝術家於2019年和2020年期間創作的人像繪畫。這兩年間所發生的社會動盪和全球疫症,促使以人為中心的世界受到威脅,衛生、經濟和信任體系面臨嚴重衝擊。在此期間,藝術家從繪畫靜物和自然,轉移至對人類及其內在狀態的體現,成為了重要的轉折點。這組繪畫作品包括數個系列如《年輕人》、《鬍子先生》、《人體》和《七個盲人》。展覽標題可以說是藝術家在動蕩和艱難的時期對「這個世界能變好嗎?」更多出於自省的回應,雖然帶著悲觀的冷峻和憂患,但同時表現了藝術家基於個人信念和人類現實未來的熱切和樂觀。

骸骨和頭骨是繪畫中的關鍵主題。蔣以西方藝術Memento mori(拉丁語片語,意思為「勿忘你終有一死」)的傳統為基礎,讓這些內臟器官傳達生命的內在狀態,將內在性轉化為外部。掏空了思想,糢糊了面孔、融解了大腦,只剩下頭骨。過去一年發生的各種事件和經歷的暴風雨摧毀和瓦解了以往的秩序和體系,一個死而復生的「新世界」必將到來,這個「新世界」將如何?藝術家認為更值得思考的是「這個我」將如何?因為世界是由無數的「我」聯結的「我們」創造。

蔣對人類身體的探索體現於《人體》系列中。在充滿生命力和活力的肉體裡,油彩變成了血液,筆觸顯示出混沌背景下的靜脈和肌理組織。系列以《人體 之六》作結,彷如西奧多.傑利柯(Théodore Géricault)的構圖中,蒼白而情色依然的肉體了無生氣地躺於抽象的背景。當下的生與死糾纏並消失於彼此之中。

在2019年創作的《年輕人》系列反映了藝術家對那些活著並面臨著未來的人們的關切。他透過呈現那些可塑及無法定義、不斷變異及永不休止的主體,喚起年輕人的狀態。七彩的色塊融入於畫布中,混濁模糊的線條溢發著液態的流動、滴落和滑動。這些年輕的人體展示了眾多矛盾的混合形式,天使和惡魔、成熟和幼稚、衝動而多思、敏感而憤世、美麗又邪惡、似人似獸。

《七個盲人》系列包括七幅畫作,構成一部視覺寓言體,消除了視覺的中心性,並從而挑戰了光學視覺和感覺想像之間的差異。蔣認為只有擁抱「無形」,並將「形」從其表達形式中解放,藝術家才能成為一個能有偶遇、多態關係和感官對抗的人。「盲人」(非常規系統者)怎麼畫畫?這是沒有局限的、無拘無束的純粹創造。

Jiang Zhi: Can I Become Better?

8 Sep - 24 Oct 2020

Blindspot Gallery is pleased to present the solo exhibition of Jiang Zhi: Can I Become Better?. The exhibition features newly made figurative portraits executed in 2019 and 2020, a time of social upheaval and global pandemic, a moment when the anthropocentric world is under threat, when systems of health, economy, and mutual trust are in serious collapse. During this time, the artist made an important pivot from the depiction of objects and nature, to the manifestation of human beings and their inner condition. This ensemble includes works selected from multiple series, such as Youth, Mr. Beard, Human Body, and Seven Blind People. The exhibition title “Can I become better?” comes from the artist’s self-reflection and personal response to the question “Can the world become better?”. Despite a certain pessimism from apathy and worry, the artist expresses his passion and optimism based on personal belief and human reality.

Skeletons and skulls emerge as key motifs in the paintings. Building on the Christian tradition of memento mori, Jiang allows these visceral bodies to convey the inner state of being alive, an interiority turned external. The tempest of events and experiences from the past year overwhelms and hollows one’s mind, melting faces and dissolving brains, leaving behind the cranium.  As the status quo of existing order and systems is destroyed and annihilated, a “new world” must rise from the dead. What would this new world look like? The artist thoughtfully asks about the new “self”, for the new world is made up of the connection of the “many”.

Jiang’s exploration of corporeality materializes in the Human Body series. These are sanguine bodies that are full of life force and vitality, as oil pigments become blood, and brush strokes show veins and musculature out of a chaotic background. The series ends with a Gericault-like composition in Human Body No.6, where a pale body, no less erotic, lies lifeless on an abstract ground. Life and death entwine in the now and disappear into each other.

Thinking about those who are alive and face a future in front of them, Jiang painted the Youth series in the latter half of 2019. The artist elicits the feeling of being young by recreating beings that are malleable and undefinable, constantly mutating and never settling. Colorful swatches merge into the canvas, as the smudged blurry lines allow osmosis, liquidity, drippage and slippages. The youthful figures take many contradictory hybrid forms, at once angelic and devilish, mature and naive, impulsive and over-thinking, sensitive and cynical, beautiful and abject, man and beast. 

Seven Blind People is a series of seven paintings that form a visual parable, negating the centrality of sight and thereby challenges the chasm between optical visuality and sensual imagination. Jiang believes that only by embracing Formlessness and liberating the Form from its representation, can the artist become one with chance encounters, polymorphous relationality, and sensual confrontations. How would a blind person (those who are in an unconventional system) paint? There shall be no limit, but unfettered and pure creation.